Ignoring Hardik Pandya, Virender Sehwag chose someone else as captain instead of Rohit Sharma

Ignoring Hardik Pandya, Virender Sehwag chose someone else as captain instead of Rohit Sharma

r3vtccvo rohit sharma hardik pandya

Former India batsman Virender Sehwag has backed the team management's decision to appoint young Shubman Gill as captain for the upcoming T20 series against Zimbabwe. Gill will lead an inexperienced team against Zimbabwe, which could be the first series for the new Indian head coach. India captain Rohit Sharma, star batsman Virat Kohli and several other senior players have been rested for the T20 tour. Sharing his views on Gill's captaincy, Sehwag suggested that whenever Rohit leaves the captaincy, the young player is the best candidate to take over the responsibility permanently.

Sehwag said, “Shubman Gill will remain in the team for a long time. He is a player who plays in all three formats. His performance was excellent last year. He was unlucky to be out of the 2024 T20 World Cup. According to me, making him the captain is the right decision. When Rohit Sharma is out of the team tomorrow, Shubman Gill will be his right choice for captaincy.” Cricbuzz,

This team includes only two players from the main team of the T20 World Cup: Yashasvi Jaiswal and Sanju Samson. The rest of the players who were part of the T20 World Cup have been rested.

Players like Rinku Singh, Avesh Khan and Khaleel Ahmed, who are in the list of reserve players of the T20 World Cup touring team, have also been included in the squad.

Promising young players who have proven themselves in the Indian Premier League and the domestic arena have been called up from India multiple times over the last 12 months.

Apart from the well-known international names, Abhishek Sharma, Nitish Reddy, Riyan Parag and Tushar Deshpande have been included in the squad for the first time on the basis of their impressive IPL performances.

The first match of the five-match series will be played at Harare Sports Club on July 6 and the second match will be played at the same venue the next day. The last T20 match will be played at Harare Sports Club on July 14.

Indian team for T20 series against Zimbabwe: Dubman Gill (captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Abhishek Sharma, Rinku Singh, Sanju Samson (wicketkeeper), Dhruv Jurel (wicketkeeper), Nitish Reddy, Riyan Parag, Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan, Khalil Ahmed, Mukesh Kumar and Tushar Deshpande.

(With ANI inputs)

Topics mentioned in this article

join us for quick updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Enable Notifications OK No thanks