Indian team for Zimbabwe T20: Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma rested, this player will be the captain – report

Indian team for Zimbabwe T20: Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma rested, this player will be the captain – report

bs6kptd virat kohli rohit sharma reuters

While the entire cricketing fraternity is focussing on the T20 World Cup 2024, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) is working in the background to select the Indian team for the Zimbabwe tour for 5 T20 matches. The tournament is set to begin on July 06 with the next generation of India's cricket stars expected to travel to the country while veterans like Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli and Jasprit Bumrah will be rested. Even players like Hardik Pandya and Suryakumar Yadav have reportedly declined the offer to travel with the team to Zimbabwe.

According to a report Indian ExpressIn the absence of Rohit, Hardik and Surya, Shubman Gill is likely to be named captain of the Indian team for the Zimbabwe series. The team is expected to include Indian Premier League stars like Abhishek Sharma and Riyan Parag, Nitish Kumar Reddy, Tushar Deshpande and Harshit Rana.

Players like Sanju Samson, Yashasvi Jaiswal and Rinku Singh, who are touring the US and West Indies with the Indian team for the T20 World Cup, will also be included.

Shubman Gill also accompanied the Indian team to the US as a member of the reserve team but was sent back along with pacer Avesh Khan.

Who will be India's coach for the Zimbabwe series?

With the mystery over Gautam Gambhir's appointment as India's new head coach still lingering, National Cricket Academy head VVS Laxman is expected to accompany the team to Zimbabwe along with a few other coaches.

The next Indian coach, possibly Gambhir, is expected to join the team for the Sri Lanka tour starting July 27.

India's probable squad for Zimbabwe T20 series: Shubman Gill (captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Rinku Singh, Sanju Samson (wicketkeeper), Abhishek Sharma, Nitish Reddy, Harshit Rana, Yash Dayal, Khalil Ahmed, Avesh Khan, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi, Riyan Parag, Rajat Patidar, Dhruv Jurel (wicketkeeper)

Topics mentioned in this article

join us for quick updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Enable Notifications OK No thanks