Ishan Kishan is among the 8 players ignored by BCCI for T20I. What will happen next?

Ishan Kishan is among the 8 players ignored by BCCI for T20I. What will happen next?

sm7r4a6g ishan kishan and shreyas

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) had to make three changes to the Indian team for the T20 series against Zimbabwe as some members were stuck in Barbados. Players like Yashasvi, Shivam Dube, Sanju Samson, who were part of the Indian squad for the T20 World Cup 2024 campaign, could not leave the island nation early as the government had to shut down all flights due to the threat of a storm. The selectors picked Harshit Rana, Jitesh Singh and Sai Sudarshan as replacements for the first two matches.

Harshit and Sudarshan were rewarded on the basis of their stellar performances in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024, while Jitesh has been in the list for the past few years. However, their inclusion also raised big questions over some other Team India stars who were overlooked. Those who topped the list included Ishan Kishan, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Varun Chakravarthy, Mayank Yadav, Umran Malik, Yash Dayal, etc.

Ishan Kishan's case is arguably the most interesting. He was an all-format player for the Indian team until the South Africa tour, where he asked for a break from the BCCI. A lot happened between that series and the selection of the T20 World Cup 2024 squad that prompted the selectors to sideline the Mumbai Indians wicketkeeper-batsman.

Ishan was reportedly asked to play Ranji Trophy and a few other domestic tournaments for Jharkhand if he was to be considered for selection but he decided to train with Hardik Pandya for the IPL 2024 campaign.

The Mumbai Indians star's move did not go down well with the BCCI officials and selectors, who did not pick him for the Zimbabwe series despite Sanju Samson being unavailable for the first two matches. The current selection order shows that Ishan is not even the fourth choice in the shortest format. Rishabh Pant, Sanju Samson, Dhruv Jurel and Jitesh Sharma are ahead of him in this race.

Ishan's case is not an isolated one, similar questions can be asked about 7 other players including KL Rahul and Shreyas Iyer, two Indian veterans who were not selected for the Zimbabwe tour.

The absence of Varun Chakravarthy, Mayank Yadav, Umran Malik, Yash Dayal, etc in the bowling unit also raises some big questions, while many believe an all-rounder like Venkatesh Iyer could also have been considered.

Indian squad for T20 Internationals against Zimbabwe: Shubman Gill (captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Abhishek Sharma, Rinku Singh, Sanju Samson (wicketkeeper), Dhruv Jurel (wicketkeeper), Nitish Reddy, Riyan Parag, Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan, Khaleel Ahmed, Mukesh Kumar, Tushar Deshpande.

Changes for the first two T20 matches: Harhit Rana, Sai Sudarshan, Jitesh Sharma

Topics mentioned in this article

join us for quick updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Enable Notifications OK No thanks